Jump to content


VKB-SIM GLADIATOR MK.II

Joystick GYSTpesha

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

Goat_messiah #1 Posted 02 April 2019 - 02:40 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 6243 battles
  • 164
  • [LXGM] LXGM
  • Member since:
    07-13-2015

I recently aquired a VKB-SIM GLADIATOR MK.II

 

 

When assigning the stick I immeadiately ran head-first into the problem that the game client did not detect my Jaw axis.

 

I already submitted a ticket, but if someone else had/has this problem and has more input on the matter, please contibute to the thread.

 

 

 

tl;dr Found a new joystick issue, HALP!



Goat_messiah #2 Posted 03 April 2019 - 01:12 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 6243 battles
  • 164
  • [LXGM] LXGM
  • Member since:
    07-13-2015

Post on the NA forum;

 

View PostDrSinister, on 03 April 2019 - 01:05 AM, said:

Does the Windows Game Controller recognizes your Joystick's axes?
 
  1. Open the Game Controllers window:
    1. In Windows 10, type joy.cpl in the Search box, and then select the joy.cpl result to bring up theGame Controllers window.
    2. In Windows 8.1, swipe in from the right edge of the screen, and then select Search. Type joy.cpl, and then select Game Controllers in the search results.
    3. In Windows 7, select Start. In the Search programs and files box, type joy.cpl, and then select the Game Controllers icon when it appears.
  2. In the Game Controllers window, select your joystick, and then select Properties.
  3. Under tab see if the + is moving in the box labeled X Axis / Y Axis and any of the other buttons and Point of View Hat.
  4. If not, then select Settings tab, then Calibrate...  
  5. Follow the steps in the Device Calibration Wizard.
  6. To save the new calibration settings, select Finish, and then select Apply.
  7. Test the operation of the controller.  If you are satisfied with the new settings, select OK, and then select OK again.

 

 

It is the first I checked after I connected it to the pc.

 

The Jaw axis is translated to the X Rotational axis, but the throttle is translated as the Z axis, I'm currently exploring the possibility of switching them around somehow.

 

Also tried updating the firmware of the joystick, but it is of no effect on "how well wowp works with my stick".

 

The ticket I submitted is still unanswered.

 

I'm also running dangerously low on herb... I will revisit the matter tomorrow.



Ensign_Steel #3 Posted 03 April 2019 - 02:46 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Alpha Tester
  • 1491 battles
  • 81
  • [-TPS-] -TPS-
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Can't you remap what the axises do in WOWP? Or does it only detect X and Y and nothing else?

 

I have a Logitech 3D Extreme Pro for arcade air combat games with questionable physics and a Saitek X55 Rhino H.O.T.A.S system for actual simulator use.

 

The Logitech 3D Extreme Pro seems to be a solid choice for games like this. If you wanna use a joystick with WOWP and can't find a solution for your current predicament, I can warmly recommend said stick.

 

Ps. Hope you found more herb. I believe no man should go without cola and herb.


Edited by Ensign_Steel, 03 April 2019 - 02:47 PM.

Franco_Scala, on 15 June 2018 - 12:25 PM, said:

You can't have your cake and have ''edited'' with it

 


zen_monk_ #4 Posted 03 April 2019 - 03:00 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Alpha Tester
  • 6921 battles
  • 2,143
  • [__] __
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostGoat_messiah, on 02 April 2019 - 02:40 PM, said:

I recently aquired a VKB-SIM GLADIATOR MK.II

 

Regarding the pic, AFAIK porn is not allowed here.

:teethhappy:


stats were invented by Satan himself to suck the carefree fun out of gaming                  


GonerNL #5 Posted 04 April 2019 - 08:57 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Advanced Member
  • 8616 battles
  • 1,656
  • Member since:
    09-02-2017

Wow! Nice new toy ...

 

I was cleaning up the attic/man-cave and found this :

 

 

When Logitech still made sticks that didn't break every 6 months.

With game port connection, but I also found a game-port -> USB adapter.

Wonder if Wowp will work with it, in case my 3rd Wingman 3D Extreme Pro breaks.

 

 

 


Edited by GonerNL, 04 April 2019 - 09:01 AM.


Goat_messiah #6 Posted 04 April 2019 - 10:35 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 6243 battles
  • 164
  • [LXGM] LXGM
  • Member since:
    07-13-2015

View PostGonerNL, on 04 April 2019 - 08:57 AM, said:

Wow! Nice new toy ...

 

I was cleaning up the attic/man-cave and found this :

 

 

When Logitech still made sticks that didn't break *every 6 months.* 

With game port connection, but I also found a game-port -> USB adapter.

Wonder if Wowp will work with it, in case my 3rd Wingman 3D Extreme Pro breaks.

 

 

 

 

Can't you like... drop it off at my doorstep in noord-brabant?

 

*did you mean after a 35 hr stream?*


Edited by Goat_messiah, 04 April 2019 - 10:38 AM.


Goat_messiah #7 Posted 04 April 2019 - 01:50 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 6243 battles
  • 164
  • [LXGM] LXGM
  • Member since:
    07-13-2015

Found a option in the software to switch the axï around.

 



ShawWild69 #8 Posted 21 May 2019 - 09:19 AM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 14765 battles
  • 6
  • [_BRO] _BRO
  • Member since:
    12-07-2013

Sirs, had the same problem with gameclient:

Never forget to *Apply* every change,  before *OK* or it will not take effect.

Mine work within WoW, but the calibration is very hard to do, when i'm used to Logitech '3D Extreme'.

Sincerely


 



ShawWild69 #9 Posted 21 May 2019 - 03:57 PM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 14765 battles
  • 6
  • [_BRO] _BRO
  • Member since:
    12-07-2013

Does anyone know of how to calibrate properly for WoW:

VKBSim-'Gladiator II' joystick??.



RoyalFlyingCorps #10 Posted 22 May 2019 - 06:25 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 14594 battles
  • 857
  • [W___P] W___P
  • Member since:
    05-05-2016
The Goat is a sometime streamer of the game, ShawWild69, under the Twitch name 'Goat_messiah', so it may be worth you catching a stream and asking your questions.  I'm sure the Goat will break off from playing for a little while to help you.

ShawWild69 #11 Posted 22 May 2019 - 09:09 AM

    Airman Basic

  • Member
  • 14765 battles
  • 6
  • [_BRO] _BRO
  • Member since:
    12-07-2013

RFC, very kind of You to refer me to the 'ReeferGoat'.

Will try that later after work.

VKB MkII, took little time to make work i GameClient.

Work so 'smooth', but so sensitive that i have to find the calibration settings.

Until then i am back with '3D Extreme', as my favorite 'killing stick'.

This one i now and can set the 'zones' to my preference.

Sincerely


 



RoyalFlyingCorps #12 Posted 22 May 2019 - 10:18 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 14594 battles
  • 857
  • [W___P] W___P
  • Member since:
    05-05-2016
No problem.  The Goat appears to be taking a short break from the game, but I'm sure he will return.

Ziptop #13 Posted 16 July 2019 - 02:54 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 426 battles
  • 431
  • Member since:
    08-31-2012

View PostGoat_messiah, on 04 April 2019 - 02:50 PM, said:

Found a option in the software to switch the axï around.

 

 

 

I had a similar issue with an old Saitek/MadCatz stick which I never managed to resolve. Ended up having buy a T.16000 but that stick will break pretty soon. 

I'm thinking of getting a Virpil stick and maybe some pedals too at some point. (obviously not same as VKB but similar enough that maybe your solution would be relevant) 

 

Was the "option in the software" that you found in VKB software, Windows game controller setup or the game setup itself?

These aren't cheap controllers so I'm looking at how to resolve any potential issue's before pulling the trigger.

(I've also been wondering if there is anything in the joystick .xml that can be edited to resolve this at the game level)



GonerNL #14 Posted Yesterday, 08:47 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Advanced Member
  • 8616 battles
  • 1,656
  • Member since:
    09-02-2017

View PostZiptop, on 16 July 2019 - 04:54 PM, said:

Ended up having buy a T.16000 but that stick will break pretty soon. 

 

Mmm, after breaking 3 Logitech Extremes I was looking at T16000m, hoping that would be a bit more robust.

 

First 2 sticks the x/y axis broke (contacts?) and now some buttons are getting unresponsive !







Also tagged with Joystick, GYSTpesha

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users