Jump to content


Specialising aircraft - costs


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

Ziptop #1 Posted 05 January 2020 - 12:45 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 7233 battles
  • 1,050
  • [_-0-_] _-0-_
  • Member since:
    08-31-2012

Hi all. 

 

I've reached the point where I have a number of aircraft I might specialise. Not much experience with this but....

 

The one aircraft I did specialise already was my IL-20. 

It was already equipped with advanced components and consumables. 

What appeared to happen was all my components and equipment were taken off the aircraft when I paid for the specialization. - and I think I got charged for that too! 

 

Is this the way it works? Am I expected to pay an equipment demount/re-equip cost of tokens and silver for each aircraft I specialise? 

 

I'm rather concerned about how much this could end up costing me in tokens alone as pretty much every aircraft I want to specialise already has some enhanced equipment installed and ALL of them have consumables. 

 

Note - I wouldn't have been changing the modules anyway. Simply enhancing them to ultimate therefore the game automatically demounting these things then charging me seems odd. 


Edited by Ziptop, 05 January 2020 - 12:48 PM.


RoyalFlyingCorps #2 Posted 05 January 2020 - 01:47 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Advanced Member
  • 17261 battles
  • 1,611
  • Member since:
    05-05-2016

There are modules, equipment and consumables here.  It's not clear what you mean by 'components'.

 

A specialised aircraft is limited to the top modules.  If you specialise an aircraft that you have been flying with some modules that are not the top ones, then in specialised configuration you will be forced to use the top ones.  However, this will cost you nothing since you must have researched them already in order to be able to specialise the plane.

 

Equipment will remain on the stock configuration unless whilst equipping the specialist configuration you select the equipment available "in another configuration".  This swaps the equipment from the stock to the specialist configuration.  Again, this is free.  If you do not select the equipment from the stock configuration you may have to buy new equipment, which is a waste of credits unless you plan to fly the plane in both configurations (rare, but something one might do with a few aircraft).

 

Consumables must be manually demounted and sent to the depot from the stock configuration.  They can then be mounted on the specialist configuration.  This will cost you nothing too.

 

If you have spent tokens equipping your specialist configuration you have demounted the equipment from another aircraft and not from the one you have just specialised.  As this is the first option when equipping aircraft you may not have noticed what you were doing.  You want either to buy new equipment or to swap the equipment from the stock to the specialist equipment ("in another configuration" option).

 

 



Ziptop #3 Posted 05 January 2020 - 03:44 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 7233 battles
  • 1,050
  • [_-0-_] _-0-_
  • Member since:
    08-31-2012

What I mean is...

 

Consumables... (Fire extinguisher, engine cooling etc) 

On the IL-20 I forgot to dismount these before I paid for th "Specialist" 

The game then automatically dismounted them and charged me (silver) to remount them. 

 

Also, I had all the slots available for such things as strengthened airframe, uprated engine, gun sights etc all filled with those modules - and I had enhanced/calibrated those modules to the max that an unspecialised aircraft would benefit from. 

 

The game ALSO removed all of these items automatically and placed them back in the depot. 

I wasn't expecting this and so I wasn't paying attention when it happened so I don't know if the game charged me the dismount fee in tokens. 

 

I would just like to minimise the spend if specialising a bunch of aircraft which I have already done a significant amount of work on....therefore knowing whether the game is actually designed to cost me tokens here or not will decide which aircraft I actually do this to 

 

 



zen_monk_ #4 Posted 05 January 2020 - 03:59 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Alpha Tester
  • 9867 battles
  • 3,401
  • [__] __
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostZiptop, on 05 January 2020 - 04:44 PM, said:

 

I would just like to minimise the spend if specialising a bunch of aircraft which I have already done a significant amount of work on....therefore knowing whether the game is actually designed to cost me tokens here or not will decide which aircraft I actually do this to 

 

 

For non-specialized aircrafts don't go above 200 (second) enhancement. There the first perk works even if the plane is non-specialized, and removing this equipment will cost 1 token, even if you've calibrated it to 270.

 

For the third enhancement removal is 2 tokens, and 3 tokens if it's enhanced to the max.

 

You can't work around it. Only in advance - planing which ones will be the keepers, so while specializing the plane use only the basic enhanced equipment that can be demonunted free of charge.


stats were invented by Satan himself to suck the carefree fun out of gaming                            


RoyalFlyingCorps #5 Posted 05 January 2020 - 05:01 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Advanced Member
  • 17261 battles
  • 1,611
  • Member since:
    05-05-2016

View PostZiptop, on 05 January 2020 - 03:44 PM, said:

What I mean is...

 

Consumables... (Fire extinguisher, engine cooling etc) 

On the IL-20 I forgot to dismount these before I paid for th "Specialist" 

The game then automatically dismounted them and charged me (silver) to remount them.

 

Nope.  The consumables will stay in place on the stock configuration unless you deliberately and manually remove them.  My bet is if you examine your stock and specialist configurations you now have consumables on both.  You've been charged for mounting new consumables on the specialist configuration.

 

Equipment is not automatically removed from the stock configuration.  It will stay there unless you choose to swap it from the stock to the specialist configuration, or you simply demount it (the latter will cost you tokens, I'm pretty sure, the former will cost you nothing).

 

Modules are things you research on aircraft.  They have no slots, so I'm not sure what you mean there.  You appear to be talking about equipment.

 

I am beginning to think you may not be aware that your specialised aircraft can also be flown in a stock configuration.  Just in case that is so, you can toggle between the two configurations here.  Both configurations can be equipped and supplied with consumables.  These are not shared.  If you want a gunsight in both configurations, for example, you need two gunsights.

 



 



Ziptop #6 Posted 05 January 2020 - 05:47 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Beta Tester
  • 7233 battles
  • 1,050
  • [_-0-_] _-0-_
  • Member since:
    08-31-2012

No, indeed I was completely unaware that I could toggle between states. (Specialized/non-specialized.) 

 

My guess would be you are right. I basically just double equipped the aircraft. (Therefore paying the cost for all the other parts.) 

 

Am still a little concerned that this means I now have to pay to remove the sights etc from the stock aircraft and transfer them to the specialized aircraft. - despite it being the same aircraft.

That's a little bit of a drag, but maybe not as bad as I thought the situation might be.



RoyalFlyingCorps #7 Posted 05 January 2020 - 06:38 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Advanced Member
  • 17261 battles
  • 1,611
  • Member since:
    05-05-2016

View PostZiptop, on 05 January 2020 - 05:47 PM, said:

Am still a little concerned that this means I now have to pay to remove the sights etc from the stock aircraft and transfer them to the specialized aircraft. - despite it being the same aircraft.

That's a little bit of a drag, but maybe not as bad as I thought the situation might be.

 

That's correct, but there's no cost for transferring equipment between configurations.  However, it's easy to get it wrong; the interface will present equipment on other aircraft in the list before the equipment in the stock configuration.



houghtonbee #8 Posted 07 January 2020 - 09:42 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 6130 battles
  • 679
  • [BBMM] BBMM
  • Member since:
    06-23-2013

Always worth going into the depot - sell - modules and selling off old modules you wont use again once you've specialised (or upgraded) the aircraft. Can be a valuable source of silver income.

 

I do this after every upgrade or specialisation just incase WG change the rules on it with no prior notice for players.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users