Jump to content


Partial connectivity issues - just me?


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

Dhansak #1 Posted 29 July 2020 - 08:02 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 2959 battles
  • 132
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Anyone else having trouble with:

 

1) Current Missions (the one with info about Vampire progress etc) always trying  to update - and never making it

 

2) After completing a game the battle results just gets stuck on an infinite loading screen. I have to restart the game (closing via task manager)- and as far as I can tell the stats have not updated to reflect the completed battle (was noting the free xp value - this did not change after a restart).

 

Have checked my firewall - all looks ok. Thanks!  



0berhessen #2 Posted 29 July 2020 - 11:44 AM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Advanced Member
  • 5827 battles
  • 1,115
  • [RFSL] RFSL
  • Member since:
    06-27-2016

Did you try the "clear cache" option when you start the game from the gamecenter, note that small arrow right side of the start button, there you choose the option "start game and clear its cache" or soemthing.

Solves most issues...


There is an art to flying, or rather a knack. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss. ... Clearly, it is this second part, the missing, that presents the difficulties (Douglas Adams - Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy)

GonerNL #3 Posted 29 July 2020 - 12:47 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Advanced Member
  • 13007 battles
  • 2,864
  • Member since:
    09-02-2017

If that doesn't help, you could try 'repair' from the game center under settings 

 



blindfoId #4 Posted 29 July 2020 - 02:01 PM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Developer
  • 22 battles
  • 713
  • Member since:
    07-19-2018

Hi Dhansak,

 

Please try clearing the cached data (arrow next to the "Play" button in WGC) as well as check and repair option as 0berhessen and GonerNL suggest. If these steps doesn't help please submit a ticket to Customer Support. 



Dhansak #5 Posted 29 July 2020 - 04:16 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 2959 battles
  • 132
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Thanks for the suggestions - much appreciated!

 

Clearing the cache did not do the trick, so I am  waiting for the check and repair option to complete. Will keep you posted.

 

 



Dhansak #6 Posted 29 July 2020 - 04:35 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 2959 battles
  • 132
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Pity - the repair function didn't help either. I will open a support ticket - thanks all for your help.

Ato_sato #7 Posted 29 July 2020 - 08:01 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 7448 battles
  • 14
  • Member since:
    04-16-2019
I've tried all the logged actions including reinstalling the game. Helps for a short time. Almost after every battle exit back to Windows.

zen_monk_ #8 Posted 29 July 2020 - 08:07 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Alpha Tester
  • 10417 battles
  • 3,611
  • [__] __
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
If it's Win10 you're using, it also helps to run the game in Win7 Compatibility Mode.

stats were invented by Satan himself to suck the carefree fun out of gaming                            


Woolfie_aka_paca_chatban #9 Posted 29 July 2020 - 10:30 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 9012 battles
  • 331
  • [BIZZ] BIZZ
  • Member since:
    01-24-2013

try this as i have to do this once a month 

and wg game check don't work 

press the win +R  run the command %appdata% in the window that opens 

go to the wargaming.net folder and delete folder in it 

then run the check and repair to fix game   once the game is fixed you will have to redo all you settings

as it goes back to default 

ps WGcheck  does NOT WORK FOR WORLDS OF WARPLANES as we don't have an update server



Dhansak #10 Posted 30 July 2020 - 12:13 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 2959 battles
  • 132
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PosttheOneWithaChatBan, on 29 July 2020 - 10:30 PM, said:

try this as i have to do this once a month 

and wg game check don't work 

press the win +R  run the command %appdata% in the window that opens 

go to the wargaming.net folder and delete folder in it 

then run the check and repair to fix game   once the game is fixed you will have to redo all you settings

as it goes back to default 

ps WGcheck  does NOT WORK FOR WORLDS OF WARPLANES as we don't have an update server

 

 

Thanks for this. Will try it out - but first am waiting with interest to see what Support have to say. I have no idea how long they take to respond on average - hopefully not too long.

 

But you have to do this once a month? - may I ask what the game is doing to you to make this necessary?  It sounds a bit painful!



RoyalFlyingCorps #11 Posted 30 July 2020 - 12:37 PM

    Second Lieutenant

  • Advanced Member
  • 17688 battles
  • 1,846
  • Member since:
    05-05-2016
I think relying on support may be something of a forlorn hope, since I'm fairly sure there's no dedicated support staff for the game.  They're all seconded to WoWP tickets from tanks and warships, or so I believe.  Perhaps Blindfold would comment?

Aimless #12 Posted 30 July 2020 - 12:44 PM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 4867 battles
  • 532
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostDhansak, on 30 July 2020 - 12:13 PM, said:

 

But you have to do this once a month? - may I ask what the game is doing to you to make this necessary?  It sounds a bit painful!

 

Too much swearing :trollface:



Dhansak #13 Posted 30 July 2020 - 03:20 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 2959 battles
  • 132
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PostRoyalFlyingCorps, on 30 July 2020 - 12:37 PM, said:

I think relying on support may be something of a forlorn hope, since I'm fairly sure there's no dedicated support staff for the game.  They're all seconded to WoWP tickets from tanks and warships, or so I believe.  Perhaps Blindfold would comment?

 

Ah - I had not realised this  :(

 

Will try ChatBans suggestion tomorrow when I have more time.

 



Ato_sato #14 Posted 30 July 2020 - 08:09 PM

    Senior Airman

  • Member
  • 7448 battles
  • 14
  • Member since:
    04-16-2019
Support may not help. I sent a description of the problem, came the answer-need more players, need a vote. Developers are not interested in spending time and resources to improve this game.

Woolfie_aka_paca_chatban #15 Posted 30 July 2020 - 09:40 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 9012 battles
  • 331
  • [BIZZ] BIZZ
  • Member since:
    01-24-2013

the biggest problem i have is token missions  they fail to  renew after completing mission 

they show  3 bars even when i haven't  even started the mission 

so i never know how far i have gone  in token mission  


Edited by theOneWithaChatBan, 30 July 2020 - 09:40 PM.


zen_monk_ #16 Posted 30 July 2020 - 09:47 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Alpha Tester
  • 10417 battles
  • 3,611
  • [__] __
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View PosttheOneWithaChatBan, on 30 July 2020 - 10:40 PM, said:

the biggest problem i have is token missions  they fail to  renew after completing mission 

they show  3 bars even when i haven't  even started the mission 

so i never know how far i have gone  in token mission  

 

Take one battle in each Period and you'll see it normal.


stats were invented by Satan himself to suck the carefree fun out of gaming                            


Dhansak #17 Posted 30 July 2020 - 10:09 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 2959 battles
  • 132
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Deleted the contents of the wg folder in appdata. DId the repair - exactly the same problem.  Deep joyload.

Dhansak #18 Posted 31 July 2020 - 12:28 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 2959 battles
  • 132
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Update - support responded to my ticket this morning!

 

They got me to download a checker. I have just sent them the resulting diagnostic file. Fingers crossed for an easy fix - though I would settle for a complex fix if it got things back to normal lol!



Woolfie_aka_paca_chatban #19 Posted 31 July 2020 - 07:49 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 9012 battles
  • 331
  • [BIZZ] BIZZ
  • Member since:
    01-24-2013

sorry zen  that don't work  if i refresh . i get a full mission all three  stripes full even though i have done any 

so i don't know what i have or have not done  its a pain 

but i know what  you mean   the stripes  show  when completed at the end of a battle :)

 


Edited by theOneWithaChatBan, 31 July 2020 - 07:51 PM.


Dhansak #20 Posted 31 July 2020 - 09:06 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 2959 battles
  • 132
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

I don't know if/what Support did, but it is working now.  Will test again tomorrow and let them know.

 

Coincidentally I noticed that my DNS was failing, so I changed my default DNS to google's public server rather than my Internet provider's default, That resolved my DNS resolution issues - but also WoWP worked properly after that. Hmm - possibly it's related? - I don't know. Just glad to be back in the cockpit again - Huzzah :)

 

 






5 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 5 guests, 0 anonymous users