Jump to content


Can someone explain this pilot training issue?

pilot skills training

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

aauk #1 Posted 05 September 2021 - 02:04 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 644 battles
  • 54
  • Member since:
    01-01-2018
I set aside a US fighter plane for the purpose of training crew. Then when the pilot was nicely trained up with various skills, I tried transferring that pilot to one of my other US fighter planes... However, the game then tells me that the acquired skills count for nothing on the 2nd plane, and that progress has been frozen, etc... So does this mean it is a waste of time training a pilot on one plane, for eventual deployment on another plane?

Edited by aauk, 05 September 2021 - 02:06 PM.


GonerNL #2 Posted 05 September 2021 - 02:38 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Advanced Member
  • 15775 battles
  • 3,564
  • Member since:
    09-02-2017
Yep.
For tech tree planes the pilot needs to be trained for that particular plane ...only on premium planes you can use any pilot (of that country) while keeping his 100% proficiency and keep building skills.

Edited by GonerNL, 05 September 2021 - 02:39 PM.


aauk #3 Posted 05 September 2021 - 03:12 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 644 battles
  • 54
  • Member since:
    01-01-2018

View PostGonerNL, on 05 September 2021 - 02:38 PM, said:

For tech tree planes the pilot needs to be trained for that particular plane ...only on premium planes you can use any pilot (of that country) while keeping his 100% proficiency and keep building skills.

Okay - thank you.



blindfoId #4 Posted 06 September 2021 - 10:18 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Developer
  • 22 battles
  • 890
  • Member since:
    07-19-2018

You can always retrain a pilot for your new plane for free, using credits or gold. If you choose free/credits to retrain your pilot will have 50% or 90% proficiency. It means that you need to fly a couple of battles to train him to 100% on that particular plane, after that all skills will work. 

 

Spoiler

 



aauk #5 Posted 06 September 2021 - 05:08 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 644 battles
  • 54
  • Member since:
    01-01-2018

View PostblindfoId, on 06 September 2021 - 10:18 AM, said:

You can always retrain a pilot for your new plane for free, using credits or gold. If you choose free/credits to retrain your pilot will have 50% or 90% proficiency. It means that you need to fly a couple of battles to train him to 100% on that particular plane, after that all skills will work. 

 

Good tip - thanks. I bought the US premium fighter 'XFL-1', thinking it would be good for training pilots for my other US fighters. Sad to learn it's not feasible..


Edited by aauk, 06 September 2021 - 05:10 PM.


GonerNL #6 Posted 06 September 2021 - 05:14 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Advanced Member
  • 15775 battles
  • 3,564
  • Member since:
    09-02-2017

That's exactly what you can do !

Just put another fighter pilot in the premium XFL-1, do NOT retrain him and just accumulate points ... and then eventually transfer the pilot back to his own plane.

 



Aimless #7 Posted 06 September 2021 - 05:36 PM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 6857 battles
  • 645
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

View Postaauk, on 06 September 2021 - 05:08 PM, said:

Good tip - thanks. I bought the US premium fighter 'XFL-1', thinking it would be good for training pilots for my other US fighters. Sad to learn it's not feasible..

 

You train all pilots of your other US fighters once they are on 100%. If you want to train a pilot for a plane you are planning to buy in the future, well that's not the perfect way but nevertheless a possible way. So what exactly is not feasible?



aauk #8 Posted 08 September 2021 - 03:17 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 644 battles
  • 54
  • Member since:
    01-01-2018

View PostAimless, on 06 September 2021 - 05:36 PM, said:

 

You train all pilots of your other US fighters once they are on 100%. If you want to train a pilot for a plane you are planning to buy in the future, well that's not the perfect way but nevertheless a possible way. So what exactly is not feasible?

Well, I thought I could train up the pilot that came with my XFL-1 and then use him in my P40 or another US fighter, but when I transferred him to my P40 Warhawk, I see the following, suggesting to me that it was futile:


Edited by aauk, 08 September 2021 - 03:22 PM.


andrew3142 #9 Posted 08 September 2021 - 03:46 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 13432 battles
  • 129
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

It works the other way round - you can take a 100% pilot from a tech tree plane (E.g P40) and put him/her into a premium aircraft where they will be fully operational and then earn extra training experience (remember to tick the Accelerate Training option on the Pilot Screen)

 

What you need to do is retrain this pilot for the P40 (I would suggest using credits if you have them to get 90% training) and then play a couple of games in the P40 to get him up to the full 100% expertise on that plane - one good win can do it. You can then move him between the P40 and XFL-1 freely and he will be fully effective in both planes.

 

But, yes, the pilot that comes "free" with the Premium offers very little (unless they have extra skill points)



aauk #10 Posted 08 September 2021 - 05:22 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 644 battles
  • 54
  • Member since:
    01-01-2018

View Postandrew3142, on 08 September 2021 - 03:46 PM, said:

It works the other way round - you can take a 100% pilot from a tech tree plane (E.g P40) and put him/her into a premium aircraft where they will be fully operational and then earn extra training experience (remember to tick the Accelerate Training option on the Pilot Screen)

 

What you need to do is retrain this pilot for the P40 (I would suggest using credits if you have them to get 90% training) and then play a couple of games in the P40 to get him up to the full 100% expertise on that plane - one good win can do it. You can then move him between the P40 and XFL-1 freely and he will be fully effective in both planes.

 

But, yes, the pilot that comes "free" with the Premium offers very little (unless they have extra skill points)

Ah, I see! Thank you so much for explaining it clearly - and for the additional suggestions/tips. So the above pilot will only ever be useful in the P40 or any premium plane, correct? I'm currently working towards obtaining the pilot Cadman Miller (with his special perks). Perhaps I can work him into the formula, somehow. 


Edited by aauk, 08 September 2021 - 06:52 PM.


TheNobleQ #11 Posted 08 September 2021 - 06:05 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Advanced Member
  • 24283 battles
  • 2,626
  • Member since:
    05-05-2016

View Postaauk, on 08 September 2021 - 05:22 PM, said:

So the above pilot will only ever be useful in the P40 or any premium plane, correct?

 

He'll be useful only in the P40 until you train him for another aircraft.  This aircraft should not, usually, be a premium plane.  Those are your crew trainers, except in certain cases where a premium merits its own pilot.



aauk #12 Posted 08 September 2021 - 07:01 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 644 battles
  • 54
  • Member since:
    01-01-2018

View Post_TheNobleQ, on 08 September 2021 - 06:05 PM, said:

 

He'll be useful only in the P40 until you train him for another aircraft.  

Ok - thanks. So am I right in concluding that there is no point in training a pilot to operate more than one plane, unless he is a specially-acquired pilot with special extra perks that your other pilots don't have... in which case, it might make sense to train him to operate more than one, of your most-used planes?


Edited by aauk, 09 September 2021 - 05:51 AM.


andrew3142 #13 Posted 09 September 2021 - 08:53 AM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 13432 battles
  • 129
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Hi aauk

 

It's not possible to train a pilot for more than one (tech tree) plane at a time

If you retrain your P40 pilot for the P51, he will lose his P40 specialisation (if you put him back in the P40, he'll be at 75%(?) effectiveness)

 

What I did when I was first moving up the tech trees was to keep retraining my starting pilot for the next plane and then probably selling the previous plane because I had no credits or no hangar slots! That way, by the time I reached the higher tiers I had a reasonably skilled pilot.

 

If you have a lower tier plane that is a "keeper", then you can either do the above and recruit a new pilot for the retained aircraft or put a new pilot in the next aircraft you acquire - that's probably OK at Tiers 4, 5, 6 but playing Tier 10 with a 90%, 0 skilled pilot is going to be painful! 

 



Aimless #14 Posted 09 September 2021 - 09:13 AM

    Command Chief Master Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 6857 battles
  • 645
  • [WJDE] WJDE
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012
Oh and by the way, you can also reset the skills for credits, without any noticeable losses.

aauk #15 Posted 09 September 2021 - 10:06 AM

    Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 644 battles
  • 54
  • Member since:
    01-01-2018

View Postandrew3142, on 09 September 2021 - 08:53 AM, said:

What I did when I was first moving up the tech trees was to keep retraining my starting pilot for the next plane and then probably selling the previous plane because I had no credits or no hangar slots! That way, by the time I reached the higher tiers I had a reasonably skilled pilot.

Thank you. So when you do the above, the pilot from the previous plane carries over some benefits to the new plane: like 75%, correct? But I am put off by that notification that says "Proficiency training is frozen." (It doesn't say whether that means permanently or temporarily, and if the latter, for how long?) Likewise, for "skill points receiving"... 


Edited by aauk, 09 September 2021 - 10:27 AM.


andrew3142 #16 Posted 09 September 2021 - 12:49 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 13432 battles
  • 129
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

You have to retain him for the current aircraft (Sorry I can't remember the exact mouse clicks)

You get three options

1. Free - his basic skills go to 50% (?) (and it takes a few games to get back to 100%). He keeps any extra skills like Marksman

2. Credits (100k) - his basic skills go to 90% (and it takes 1 or 2 games to get back to 100%)

3. Gold - Immediately goes to 100% - don't do this!

 

Once you have done this, the top two warnings in the above should go away (I think)

You don't get any skill point advancement until you have got the pilot up to 100% proficiency in the aircraft (which is reasonable, the training goes to the proficiency first)



GonerNL #17 Posted 09 September 2021 - 12:56 PM

    First Lieutenant

  • Advanced Member
  • 15775 battles
  • 3,564
  • Member since:
    09-02-2017

View Postaauk, on 09 September 2021 - 11:06 AM, said:

But I am put off by that notification that says "Proficiency training is frozen." (It doesn't say whether that means permanently or temporarily, and if the latter, for how long?) 

 

Until you start training him for 'this' aircraft, exactly as it says in the warning ... 



andrew3142 #18 Posted 09 September 2021 - 03:43 PM

    Senior Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 13432 battles
  • 129
  • Member since:
    01-26-2012

Hi aauk

 

Had a chance to log in and check the retraining process (t's not exactly intuitive!)

1. Put the pilot into the plane that you want to train him for

2. Right click on the pilot icon and select service profile

3. There is a button on the left had side "retrain for this aircraft"

4. When you click you'll get the free/credits/gold options - Choose the preferred option (I recommend credits)

5. Start playing - once he reaches 100% proficiency, he'll start acquiring skill points

 

(Apologies if you had already worked this out :hiding:)

 

PS: Once the pilot is at 100% proficiency, you can also use free experience to accelerate skill training -the first 2-3 skill points are relatively cheap but the cost increases rapidly



aauk #19 Posted 19 September 2021 - 12:32 PM

    Master Sergeant

  • Advanced Member
  • 644 battles
  • 54
  • Member since:
    01-01-2018
Got it now! Thank you, andrew3142 and the others.

Edited by aauk, 21 September 2021 - 12:57 PM.





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users